1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Northwest Research-Extension Center
  4. »4-H Youth Development

Northwest Research-Extension Center

4-H Youth Development

4-H CloverKansas 4-H Youth Development is thriving. It is sponsored by K-State Research and Extension and County/District Extension Councils in the Northwest Area. 4-H Youth Development exists in all 26 counties in the Northwest Area including seven Extension Districts: Phillips-Rooks, Post Rock (Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne and Smith, Sunflower (Sherman, Cheyenne and Wallace), Twin Creeks (Decatur, Norton and Sheridan), Walnut Creek (Lane, Ness and Rush), Golden Prairie (Gove, Logan and Trego) and Midway Extension (Ellsworth and Russell). This web site is designed and maintained to help you learn more about 4-H in the Northwest Area and to stay tuned of future 4-H events.

For questions, please call Deryl Waldren at 785-462-6281 or e-mail, dwaldren@ksu.edu.  Please note there are four sub-pages on the left side navigation bar: Events, NW Day Camping Grant, Resources, and Staff Downloads. Some 4-H events are organized in the Northwest Area by blocks. When needed, the blocks are as follows:

Northwest Area 4-H Blocks
Block 1: Cheyenne, Rawlins, Sherman, Thomas, Wallace and Logan
Block 2: Decatur, Norton, Sheridan, Graham, Gove and Trego
Block 3: Phillips, Smith, Jewell, Rooks, Osborne, Mitchell and Lincoln
Block 4: Ellis, Russell, Lane, Ness, Rush, Barton and Ellsworth

Some files are protected and posted under "Staff Downloads", and require a KSU EID to download.

"4-H is a community of young people across Kansas who are learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills with caring adults."

Photo of 4-H members fisihing at Rock Springs 4-H Centyer.  Agent Teaching Campers
Campers at Cedar Bluff Reservior  Judging Wheat Show Exhibits