1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Homepage
  4. »4-H Youth Development

Northwest Research-Extension Center

4-H Youth Development

4-H CloverKansas 4-H Youth Development is thriving. It is sponsored by K-State Research and Extension and County/District Extension Councils in the Northwest Region. 4-H Youth Development programming exists in all 26 counties in the Northwest Region including eight Extension Districts: Phillips-Rooks, Post Rock (Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne and Smith, Sunflower (Sherman, Cheyenne and Wallace), Twin Creeks (Decatur, Graham, Norton and Sheridan), Walnut Creek (Lane, Ness and Rush), Golden Prairie (Gove, Logan and Trego), Midway (Ellsworth and Russell) and Cottonwood (Barton and Ellis). Rawlins and Thomas counties are also located in the Northwest Region.  This web site is designed and maintained to help you learn more about 4-H in the Northwest Region and to stay tuned of future 4-H events.

For questions, please call 785-462-6281.  Please note there are four sub-pages on the left side navigation bar: Events, NW Day Camping Grant, Resources, and Staff Downloads. Some 4-H events are organized in the Northwest Region by blocks. When needed, the blocks are as follows:

Northwest Region 4-H Blocks
Block 1: Cheyenne, Rawlins, Sherman, Thomas, Wallace and Logan
Block 2: Decatur, Norton, Sheridan, Graham, Gove and Trego
Block 3: Phillips, Smith, Jewell, Rooks, Osborne, Mitchell and Lincoln
Block 4: Ellis, Russell, Lane, Ness, Rush, Barton and Ellsworth

Some files are protected and posted under "Staff Downloads", and require a KSU EID to download.  These include the current life skills judging kit schedule and class list.

"4-H is a community of young people across Kansas who are learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills with caring adults."

Photo of 4-H members fisihing at Rock Springs 4-H Centyer.  Agent Teaching Campers
Campers at Cedar Bluff Reservior  Judging Wheat Show Exhibits